Board of Directors

Following incorporation January 2, 2022, the TAERSIF Steering Committee transitioned over to a Board of Directors. The Edison Fairs Executive Officers and Directors meet year-round to organize regional educational programs and events that typically host over 1,000 local students at regional competitions and engage nearly 20,000 students in research and creative projects. With a growing regional student population currently exceeding 180,000, it is incumbent upon this organization to expand its impact.

Executive Committee

Lee Hughes
CEO & President
Director, Regional Science & Engineering Fair
Past SDLC K-12 Science Teaching and Learning
SDLC Environmental Education Program (STEM Outreach)
Past President: Florida Association of Science Supervisors
Primary Investigator, Title IV Part A, Student Support and Academic Enrichment Grant

Dr. Gary Nelson, Vice President
Director, Regional Inventors Fair
Veterinarian, Retired

Katie Schlotterbeck, Secretary
Science Fair Administrator, Bishop Verot

Lisa LoCasio Boddicker, Treasurer
Gartner CPA Retiree


Gary Griffin
B&I Contractors, Business Community Outreach

Jim Helms
SONY HR, Home Depot HR, Author

Honorah Kenney
Former Connecticut Invention Program Administrator


Edgardo Jimenez

Friends & Guests

Gary Griffin
B&I Contractors, Business Community Outreach

Randy Antik
Imagine Solutions

Shelby Baucom
City of Fort Myers

Glen Beitman
Super Science Florida

Patty Borden

Joseph Byer

Mary “Susie” Cull

Trey Davis
Lee County Schools

Cynthia Dunham-Derheimer
Charlotte County Schools, Edison Festival of Light
& Innovators Association

Robert Fay
Seminole Railway & Florida Freezer

Dr. Laura Frost

Karl Gibbons

Dr. Shelby Gilbert

Dr. Sandra Kauanui
FGCU School of Entrepreneurship Provost
Associate Vice President for Community Entrepreneurship Initiatives
Strategy and Program Innovation

Doug MacGregor

Mark McCreary
Lee County Schools
Professional Development and Leadership Specialist
Teacher on Assignment

M. Eiluned Morgan
Earth Shine Institute President

Shirley Morrison
Former Steering Committee Member, Science Fair

Dr. Caren Polk
Past Inventors Fair Regional School Coordinator
Anatomy & Physiology, Adjunct Faculty, FGCU
Bonita Springs High FGCU Collegiate Medical Academy

Dave Reigle
Former Steering Committee Member, Science Fair

Dr. Mike Savarese
FGCU, Director of Graduate Students, The Water School

Rick Tully
Past Chairperson, TAERSIF

Jason Wikman
Charlotte County Schools, Tech College

Barbara Winitzer
Past Inventors Fair Regional School Coordinator, Retired

Board of Directors

Dr. Megan Atha
FGCU Educational Psychology

Dr. Heather Skaza Acosta
FGCU, Director of Whitaker Center

Roxann Camel
Lee County Schools Elementary Science Coach
Past Regional Inventors School Coordinator

Melissa Giovanelli
Lee County School Board & Edison Festival of Light

Barbara Hartman
Inventors Fair, Kiwanis
Communications Rep., Dept. of Economic Development, Retired

Benjamin Johnson
Science Fair Coordinator
Lee County Schools Middle High

Tim Jones
Science Fair, Fort Myers Kiwanis

Kristie Kennedy
Lee County Schools Elementary

Danielle Knapp
Lee County Schools Secondary Science Coordinator

Gaylin Morris
Charlotte County Public Schools Coordinator
Science Curriculum and Instruction Coach, K-12

Dr. Menaka Navaratna
FGCU, Professor of Mathematics

Kelly Percivall
Student Committe Chair
Community School of Naples, Science & Tech Ed

Dr. Joanna Salapska-Gelleri
FGCU, Assistant Professor of Psychology

Michael Schuman, Grants & Fundraising Committee Chair
Former Student of the Fairs

Todd Thomas
SONY, QLC Liaison

Share This